Tom

I found this gem while scrolling through my news feed. Read it over and let it sink in.

Got it? Good!

Whoever created this meme tapped into a bigger truth than he/she perhaps realizes. On the surface, it’s an affirmation of how cool, detached, and independent people can be, but I see it as yet more proof that people are so full of shit… especially when they’re trying to convince you that they don’t care if others accept them or not.

How do I know this? Because I used to be a “Tom.”

There was a time when I took great pains to let people know that I didn’t need anyone’s love and acceptance. As a result, people went out of their way to not  invite me to various social gatherings and functions. As a result, I would become pissed/hurt/offended; in fact, I would become filled with righteous indignation at the injustices of a world that would reject me just because I was different, unique, outside of the mainstream.

Self-fulfilling prophecy, anyone?

The way I see it, people who don’t need others also don’t need to let the world know this. They’re happy to go about their various pursuits. Those who make a point of grandstanding about not needing people are perhaps the most needy people of all… they’re just too afraid to admit it. Again, I know this because I was “Tom,” and I was the king of projection and overcompensation.

In the end, ask yourself this: If Tom really didn’t need love and acceptance, his back would’ve been turned on the crowd as he floated off into his own little world of solitary happiness and fulfillment.

Comments

Leave a Reply

