Me and Mr. Ego

Posted: September 29, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

The record company told me this song was “a treasure”… then they told me to bury it. But I’ve unearthed it for your entertainment. Another reminder of my short-lived career as a singer/songwriter:

Mr. Ego
Lyrics by J.P. Ribner

Me and Mr. Ego,
gonna take a ride
He’s in the driver’s seat,
with me by his side,
It’s been a while since
we’ve been down this road,
I forgot how it was,
let’s see where it goes

Me and Mr. Ego,
We’re cruisin’ right along
and I forget about
every time things went wrong
who even cares about
what happened before?
Mr. Ego puts the pedal down,
down to the floor

I always thought I was unique,
but they say I’m not unique
No validation that I seek
Mr. Ego… take me away

Hey Mr. Ego
You’re going too fast,
Now I remember,
we got in a crash,
But Mr. Ego
doesn’t hear what I say,
he’s gonna do it
do it his way

I always thought I was unique,
but they say I’m not unique
No validation that I seek
Mr. Ego … take me away

[Bridge/slow down]

As they pull me outof the burning wreck
Burned flesh, contusions, broken neck
lay my shattered body to the ground
Where’s Mr. Ego?
He’s nowhere to be found
Yeah, I know he’s not around

I always thought I was unique,
but they say I’m not unique
No validation that I seek
Mr. Ego… take me away
Take me away now
Why won’t you take me away
Far away now
a million miles away now
Mr. Ego?

Comments

Leave a Reply

