Flinstpired Writer: Roxanne Rhoads

Posted: July 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

Paranormal erotica is all the rage in literature, and no one does it better than Flint’s Roxanne Rhoads. With the skillful art of writers such as Stephen King or Clive Barker, Roxanne ramps up reader investment from the very first page, then expertly builds the suspense, hurtling readers toward a payoff that’s as titillating as it is terrifying. And there’s plenty of thrills and chills along the way! (Admittedly, I needed a cold shower after reading just the first chapter of her Hex and the Single Witch, Vehicle City Vampires Book 1.) In many ways, Roxanne is not unlike her protagonist, witch-detective Anwyn Rose: dedicated to her craft, she conjures up the arcane magic of her brilliantly creative mind and casts it onto the page for the whole world to see.

If erotica and the paranormal are your thing, you owe it to yourself to invest some time in Roxanne’s works. You’ll be sucked in from the beginning and, before you realize it, you’re craving more. Thankfully, her talent is matched by her output, and this Flintspired Writer has many great works to choose from. The only question is where to start …

I began writing when I was: …

“I think I was born with a pen in my hand. I can’t remember when I didn’t write. In grade school, I attended all the Young Author’s conferences and in middle, high school and college, I wrote for the school papers and local magazines. It started with poetry and essays then moved on to non-fiction journalism and articles, then in 2005, I started dabbling in fiction.”

What moved me to write:

“My love of words; I loved to read from a very early age and that naturally translated into being a writer.”

Right now, I am working on:

“Vehicle City Vampires Book Two, Hex and the City.”

My work differs from others in the genre because:

“I don’t write formula. I do a bit of genre-bending by including concepts and scenes that you might not find in the average paranormal romance or urban fantasy book.”

I write what I do because:

“I love all things paranormal. If there are vampires, witches, ghosts or magick … I’m attracted to it, and it’s always been that way.”

My writing process is:

“I don’t do a lot of planning. Sure, I have notes and ideas scribbled in notebooks, but I don’t outline. I usually sit down at the computer and just write. Sometimes the story surprises me. In book one of Vehicle City Vampires, Mike Malone was supposed to be a minor supporting character. He had other ideas as I wrote the story and ended up a main character vying for the heart of the heroine.”

Describe your “Flintspiration:”

“The original background for the Vehicle City Vampires series came to me while I was driving through downtown Flint one day. After leaving the main strip of Saginaw Street that is the ‘downtown’ area, surrounding areas and neighborhoods look like ghost towns; businesses are boarded up, empty, and falling apart and houses are even worse. There are entire neighborhoods in and around Flint that are completely or almost completely empty. Out of 50 houses, two might still have residents.

“That’s scary on so many different levels.

“Suddenly an idea popped into my head, ‘What if, after all the humans left, Others started moving in?’ And the basic backstory of my series came to life. Flint, Michigan becomes a hotbed of supernatural activity; ghosts, ghouls, vampires, demons and were-creatures move in and become the majority making the human population the minority.”

Interested in Roxanne’s work? Look for these titles on Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords:

Hex and the Single Witch
Paranormal Pleasures II: Ten More Tales of Supernatural Seduction
Paranormal Pleasures Ten Tales of Supernatural Seduction
Eternal Desire
Insatiable
Tasty Christmas Treats
Sinisterotica: A Collection of Erotic Horror

Single Author Titles, Ebook Only:
Complete Circle
An Unexpected Evening
No Place I’d Rather Be
A Halloween to Remember
Naughty Little Forest Nymph
A Hot and Sinful Summer: 5 Tantalizing Tales of Sizzling Summer Seduction

Short Stories in Multi-Author Collections:
Alfresco Loving
Lust Bites – A collection of five erotic vampire stories
Spirit Lovers – Volume 2
Red Hot Reads Three – a collection of six erotic stories
Sexy Christmas Stories – Volume Six – an Xcite Books Collection

Roxanne’s other writing outlets:
She’s a prolific writer, so a Google search on her name will surely access various articles and poetry of hers from all over the Web. Also, check out her blogs at www.roxannerhoads.com and www.fang-tasticbooks.blogspot.com

Comments
  1. Roxanne says:

    Wow what an intro. I feel like a superstar! Thanks for the great interview.

  2. johnribner13 says:

    You’re very welcome. You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

