Is That the Best You can Do?

Posted: July 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

I married my wife because I thought she was the best I could do. There! I said it. Happy now?

But there was a time when I had my pick of single (and some not-so-single) women. And they were some hotties, too! Some were tall while others were short, and I had blondes, brunettes, and even a natural redhead. Those were the days … and nights! The only thing that ruined it was when some of these ladies wanted more of me than I was willing to give. And so I did what anyone who’s afraid of commitment would do: I strapped on my track shoes and ran the 50-yard dash to the next available woman.

Then one day, I got tired of running.

I became disgusted with delivering the breakup speech: “It’s not you, it’s me.” I also was sick of hurting people, and mortified when they gave voice to their pain through sobbing and angry diatribes. Selfishly, I was tired of being the only one of my friends who didn’t have someone … that same, comfortable, reliable someone that would always be by my side. The problem was, all those years of man-whoring left me out of practice for real, honest-to-goodness dating.

Now I’m not going to tell you I married the first woman who came into my life after my wild and wooly single days. I simply won’t say it … because it isn’t true.

The truth is, I met the woman who made me the happiest man in the world after a year of serious dating. I actually took the time to get to know the person on the other side of the dinner table so I could honestly assess whether she would be a good long-term emotional investment. Two years after our first date, I decided to marry my wife because:

She’s amazingly sexy and beautiful,

She’s the only one who truly loves and accepts me,

She supports me while I’m working to become a better version of myself,

She’s listens to my problems without judgement,

She supports and nurtures my dreams and me,

and she always stands by my side.

So when I say that I married this woman because I thought she was the “best that I could do,” I mean it … and I’m still absolutely certain that there’s no one better!

Comments
  1. She sounds like a very lucky woman. 😉

  2. […] Be honest with yourself and others about what you want and go after it. I pretty sure that is self explanatory. Really important note, don’t judge others by some weird checklist. Be open-minded with everyone you meet. You can’t turn an enchilada into an Administrative Assistant and you can’t turn a black-hearted, bitter Narcissist into the perfect romantic partner. Be realistic.  Never, ever settle. Date as many people as you can so you can be certain you found the best person for you and not the “best you could get because you’re fat”. […]

Leave a Reply

